About Juan

I was born in Colombia, a country in northwestern South America.

Visiting Segovia, Spain

My country is the fourth biggest country in South America after Brazil, Argentina and Peru and the seventh one in the American Continent.


I was born in 1973 in Cali, the main city and capital of the Valle del Cauca Department in Colombia. My city is the third-largest city in the country. Here I did my primary studies. At age 16 I left the city to start my post-secondary studies.


I spent the next five years in Popayán, the capital of the Cauca Department. I had a very good time in this place, Popayán is well-known for its colonial architecture and its contributions to Colombian cultural and political life.


I studied Civil Engineering at Cauca University and I graduated in 1995. Life was simple and I didn’t have many worries. I worked as a waiter and a tourist guide. During the last year, I had a small business selling lotions and perfumes.

Cauca University

But life keeps going and I spent the next two years in Bogotá. This is the largest and most populous city in the country with a population of over 8 million in the metropolitan area. Here I finished a Master in Construction Administration at the Andes University.


I had a hard time trying to find a job, I worked as an assistant in a structural engineering company, then as a construction management assistant for a big construction company. I ended working as a salesman and instructor with an Internet Service Provider. From Los Andes University I got the option to start a career as a teacher -- something that I deeply love -- but to do so, I have to leave the country and learn English. Without too much money I decided to try my luck in Vancouver, Canada.

Vancouver is located in the Lower Mainland region of British Columbia.

I arrived in Canada on December 7, 1997, and right away I started my English studies. The following month I had two different tests, but I failed both.


I stayed and borrowed money from my family to survive the first year. During that time I kept studying English and bought a computer to polish my computer skills learned in Colombia.


In 1999 I found a job with a rebar detailing company. Since then I tried my luck on different things, including trying to open a small computer business shop, teach Spanish, and tourist guiding.

None of those things worked out and in December 2011 I found a job with a mining company. I do a little of everything and I am happy with what I do.

Happy Birthday!

Canada has been good to me. I found very good friends and I am very thankful for that. My life is nothing but simple and this website shows that I don’t want to miss anything from this wonderful planet.

Thank you for stopping by and I hope that you can enjoy this website in the same way that I enjoy creating it for you.


Home | About | Copyright | Contact |

Copyright © 2003-2020 Outdoors with Juan. All rights reserved.