October 8, 2005
The St. Leon Creek hot springs are on private property.
The spring is north of Nakusp (and just south of Halfway Hot springs), down a forestry road, and nestled on the side of a wooded hill.
Since 2018, the springs are under new ownership, and access is not allowed because of vandalism and abuse.
Geologists estimate that here water descends about five kilometers into the Earth where it heats, then it finds the fault that brings it back to the surface.
The springs come out of the side of the cliff and get deposited on several pools.
In 1892, prospector Mike Grady (1855-1944) found the hot springs.
He bathed in them and found them so rejuvenating, he named them the “Springs of St. Leon.” So wrote Ruby Nobbs in Revelstoke History and Heritage.